Somewhere around pallet three, they figured it out!

I’ve long dreamed of a white picket fence surrounding my front yard. Rose bushes, white of course, woven through the wood slats. I see those sort of yards weekly… In my old neighborhood.
Out here, plush is having a patch of green grass in front. The house with the white picket fence has no rose bushes, but she does have a rusting exercise machine and some car parts. And who can blame people? In 2012, we had under 1/2″ of rain. Every drop is precious out here, and rightly so. This isn’t a region turned dust bowl by the greediness of nearby cities, its the south west corner of the driest desert in North America.
Hopping onto the “grow food not lawns” wheelbarrow was easy for us. We had a big patch of dirt, wrapping its way around the north and east sides of our house. It begged for terraforming or permaculture or some kind of 21st century urban hippie thing. But first, it needed a fence!
As renters, we didn’t want to invest money in something that would have to stay long after we moved on. Pallet fences intrigue me. Some are built clearly by perfectionists, each pallet the same, all standing ramrod straight in perfect alignment. I’m more the mismatchy, funky type and so my fence must be too. And I envision my wooden farm signs hanging jauntily from my scavenged fence.

20130507-200817.jpg
I found out my driveway was built crooked while putting in this row. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it! My neighbor, James, came over around pallet number three. I’ve been collecting for a few weeks and I’m sure people were wondering what I was up to this time.

20130507-201059.jpg
Rounded the corner today before I got tired of sledging my hand instead of the poles. After all the pallets are up, I’ll be wiring them together. The poles, shown below, keep it from falling over. The wire keeps the pallets together.

20130507-201330.jpg
We used 4′ t-poles, one on each side. They were the only item purchased, but we can dismantle the fence easily when we move.

20130507-204222.jpg
View from the backside. Or as I think of it, the future home of dozens of hanging baskets of flax and sunflowers.
I managed eight pallets before stopping. A few more days of work and my front yard will be enclosed at last. Allowing me to start readying the dirt for corn!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Theresa says:

    This gives me ideas. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

