Herb Crates

I had a few milk crates sitting around after the big move and decided to put them to work in my garden. Knowing that almost any container can be turned into a planter, I set to work.
First, I lined the inside with straw. I use Timothy hay straw, which is a grass straw. You can use any kind of straw, just not one from legumes such as alfalfa. The protein will burn your plant roots!

20130422-223633.jpg
My milk crates on the handy shelf on a north facing wall.

20130422-223731.jpg
Lined with straw. Press it well against the walls. The straw holds in your soil, as well as providing air and water flow.

20130422-223856.jpg
Add your soil. Since this is functioning as a raised bed, I used soil and fertilizer. If I planned to move it often, I’d use the lighter weight potting mix.

20130422-224027.jpg
I put in three herbs per crate. Because they are all different, I didn’t want to crowd. If I was doing a straight basil crate for example, I’d have put a few more into each.

20130422-224218.jpg
Water and enjoy! I was able to begin using the herb cuttings within two weeks. Take care to water at the base of your herbs, not above. Plants with fragile leaves prefer that đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

